About Us

Abeda Inamdar Senior College

Department Profile


The Department was established in the year 1991 with Undergraduate Course in Microbiology. The Post- Graduate course was introduced in the year 2004 making a remarkable growth within a short period of time. Since 1991 the department is run efficiently by the Head of the Department Dr. D. R. Majumder.

The Department regularly arranges seminars, quiz, workshops and conferences at both state and National level. Guest lecturers from Industries and Research Institutes are invited on a regular basis. The department also organizes industrial and institutional visits for students. Quality research work is undertaken through BCUD and UGC projects.

Department Head

 Head of Department:

Name- Dr. (Mrs.) Devipriya R. Majumder
Qualification - M.Sc. (Microbiology), Ph.D.
Experience - 26 years

Contact no. – 020 26446970 Ext-234
E-mail id –


Departmental Pograms and Courses

Co-curricular and extracurricular programs conducted by Department of Microbiology:

  1. Every Year Department conducts students seminars related to current topics.
  2. Department participates in project competitions.
  3. Department conducts hands on training in Molecular Biology techniques.
  4. Department has future plans for hands on training in Protein Biochemistry.
  5. Our staff members and students have presented Posters at National and International Conferences.

Name of course



B.Sc. (Microbiology)

3 Years

12th Pass

M.Sc. (Microbiology)

2 Years


Departmental Faculty

Sr.No. Name of Staff      Designation Qualification 



1 Dr.Devipriya.R.Majumder Associate Professor M.Sc. PhD 26
2 Dr. Snehal V Kulkarni Associate Professor M.Sc. SET, GATE PhD 22
3 Mrs.Vaishali S Prabhune Assistant Professor M.Sc. 22
4 Mrs. Gauri S Devasthale Assistant Professor M.Sc. 22
5 Mrs. Nusarat S Shaikh Associate Professor M.Sc. SET 20
6 Mrs. Amrita M Bhatia Assistant Professor M.Sc. SET 19
7 Dr Jaspal K Oberoi Assistant Professor M.Sc. PhD 16
8 Dr Madhavi D Rane Assistant Professor M.Sc. PhD 14
9 Mrs. Mansura S. Mulani Assistant Professor M.Sc., SET, NET-JRF 07
10 Mrs Shilpa P Tambe Assistant Professor M .Sc, NET 05
11 Ms Pratibha R Jadhav Assistant Professor M .Sc, SET 07
12 Ms Kirti V. Dahigaonkar Assistant Professor M .Sc 01
13 Ms Sara Lambate Assistant Professor M .Sc 03







Click For More